8 MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha for a week after violent protests over 2 farm bills

farm bills 8 MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha

Lot of fuss is going around in Monsoon session of Indian Parliament over the farm bills. On Sunday, the upper house Rajya Sabha saw a series of contentious actions by the opposition parties leaders during the heated argument over the farm bills. The house witnessed chaotic actions by some members led by Trinamool Congress including Slogan shouting and climbing on the Chairperson’s podium during their protest.


MPs were suspended over violence during protesting over farm bills

Over these actions, 8 members of Rajya Sabha are suspended for one week on the matter of creating chaos during their protest against the farm bills. Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’ Brien and other 7 members including TMC’s Dola Sen, Sanjay Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Congress leaders Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Syed Nasir Hussain and KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the CPI(M). these members were suspended for “bringing disrepute to the House”.

Rajya Sabha
8 MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha

The chaos was created over the passing of two farm bills in the Upper House by voice vote. The Rajya Sabha witnessed slogan shouting by the opposition members which was led by Trinamool Congress and some protestors climbed the Chairperson’s podium to demand a discussion over the farm bills.

Rajya Sabha Chairman dismissed the non-confidence motion against Vice Chairman

The ordinances passed in the Upper House includes The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020. However, the third bill of The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020 which was discussed in the Upper House could not be passed. Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu dismissed the non-confidence motion as proposed by the opposition MPs against Rajya Sabha’s deputy Chairman Harivansh. The Chairperson said that the non-confidence motion could not be moved and is non-admissible under Article 90 of Indian Constitution.


Also read: Punjab: Congress MPs burn copies of farm bills, party protests in Parliament