DRDO tests hypersonic vehicle, leading India into select group

After a successful flight test of the Hypersonic technology demonstration vehicle (HSTDV) by DRDO on Monday, India has now become the part of a selected group of countries having the capability to develop next-generation cruise missiles.


HSTDV will be the building block for next-generation missiles

HSTDV is developed by Defense Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) is constructed on the basis of hypersonic propulsion technology. This vehicle will help India to build futuristic space assets like a long-range missile and aerial platforms. This is set to be the building block for the next generation cruise missiles.


India now part of the selected group

The missiles can attain the speed of Mach 6 or six times the speed of sound, adding India to the list of the selected groups which includes countries like the US, Russia, and China.

The DRDO successfully demonstrated the hypersonic scramjet technology with the flight test of hypersonic technology demonstration vehicle at 1103 hours from APJ Abdul Kalam launch complex at Wheeler Island, off the coast of  Odhisha, as declared by Defense Ministry.


HSTDV based on scramjet engine

The ramjet engines have the capability to operate at the speed of up to Mach 3 or three times the speed of sound. While the HSokTDV operates on a scramjet engine that operates at supersonic speeds of Mach 6.

A second attempt in hypersonic technology

Similar efforts for a successful test run of hypersonic technology were made last year but it did not provide the expected results. The Defense Ministry said that all the parameters have indicated in the massive success of the mission.

This step will also be the huge benefactor to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s mission of Atmanirbhar Bharat. Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated DRDO over the successful test flight of HSTDV calling it a ‘Landmark achievement’.


Also read: Indian PM Narendra Modi might ask MS Dhoni to play 2021 T20 world Cup: Shoaib Akhtar