IPL 2020: Four IPL records MS Dhoni holds and might continue to do so at the end of this edition

The 19th of September is going to be an interesting day for cricket fans all over the world. Not only does it mark the start of the Dream11 IPL 2020 after a six-month delay, but it is also the return date of MS Dhoni on the cricket field after announcing his retirement from international cricket on august 15 this year. Fans will finally get an opportunity to watch their “thala” back to action once again as defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) take on last year runner-ups Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the season opener of Dream11 IPL 2020.
Before Dhoni hurls back onto the field against Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi on the upcoming Saturday evening, let us dive into a number of his previous legendary records in the most popular cricket league competition which, who knows he might still hold onto even at the tip of this year’s IPL.


Most sixes by an Indian batsman

IPL 2020


After West Indies’ Chris Gayle (326) and South Aftica’s AB de Villiers (212), MS Dhoni has the third higest number with 209 overall sixes in his IPL career so far. Dhoni’s nearest competitor is MI’s captain Rohit Sharma and CSK’s Suresh Raina. Both of them have hit 194 sixes in their IPL career. RCB’s captain Virat Kohli is at No. 6 with a total of 190 sixes.

Most matches played by a captain

MS Dhoni holds the record for captaining in most International matches, and now he has also captained the most in IPL’s history. Dhoni has led CSK in 10 seasons and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) in one. In total, Dhoni has captained in 174 IPL matches.

Most wins by a captain

MS Dhoni has the second most IPL titles as a captain (3), only behind Rohit Sharma (4). But Dhoni holds the record for the most wins in the IPL as a captain. He has a total of 104 wins, and the only captain to have won over 100 matches in the IPL. Dhoni’s win percentage of 60.11 is the best by a captain (Minimum 50 matches) in IPL history.

Most successful keeper in the IPL

With a total of 132 dismissals, MS Dhoni has the most dismissals as a wicket-keeper in the IPL. Apart from that, Dhoni has 38 stumpings to his name which is also the most by a wicket-keeper in the IPL.


Also read: IPL 2020: Shane Warne returns to Rajasthan Royals as mentor ahead of new season